Back to Top

North American Case Research Association
Global Leaders in Business Case Research

Sign UpLog in

Conference Awards

NACRA Awards for Consideration for 2018 Conference
Some awards may not be conferred; each nominated case must adhere to high quality standards as judged by reviewers.

Conference Awards Description
Best Case
(Gold, Silver, Bronze)
Awarded to top three cases presented at the NACRA 2018 conference.
Best Student-Authored Case Awarded to student author and faculty supervisor for best student-written case. Faculty co-author/s not permitted; faculty supervisor may subsequently co-author revised case for submission to CRJ.
Best Newcomer Case Awarded to best case by author/s attending their first NACRA conference.
Best Case Written in French Best case in track
Best Case Written in Spanish Best case in track
Ethics Case Award Best ethics case in any track
Jonathan Welch Award Outstanding case in accounting, finance, or economics; commemorates distinguished service to NACRA by Jonathan Welch.
Curtis E. Tate Jr. Award and CRJ Case Awards The Tate award, with a prize of $2,000, is given to the best CRJ case published in the preceding year’s volume. Recognition is also given to the second and third best cases published in the CRJ in the preceding year..

2017 Conference Awards

Gold: ESSEN: Cooking Is Good for You
Javier Silva – Gustavo Calatrava
Silver: Launching a Craft Cidery: High Quantity or High Quality?
Kathryn Savage – Tierney Schipper
Bronze: Elzra Corporation
Eric Dolansky
Ruth Green (Outside NA): Veritas, The first real food supermarket
Alfred Vernis – Lourdes Urriolagoitia
Ruth Green (Outside NA): Veritas, The first real food supermarket
Alfred Vernis – Lourdes Urriolagoitia
Welch (ACC/FIN): Infiniti HR: Target or Acquirer?
Karen Hallows – Sue White.
Cases in French: Moustache Bikes
Christine Kratz
Cases in Spanish: Ecoservices: Saneando La Cultura Interna
Juan Parra
Newcomer: Ready or Not
Terry McGovern

2016 Conference Awards

Best Cases of the NACRA 2016 Conference
Gold: by Karen Boroff and Matthew Pratt
The Incident at Kabul
Silver: by Joseph Kavanagh, Sanjay Mehta, Donya Brewer, Kaitlyn Cole, and Matt Mistuc
Peer Feedback at Stress Engineering Services
Bronze: by Michael Goldman, Nola Agha, and Maximillian Duran
Redefining the Super Bowl
by David Graham Hyatt
Delta Plastics of the South: Conserving Water in the Delta

Other NACRA 2016 Case Awards

The Jonathan Welch Memorial Award (for the Best Case in Accounting, Finance, and Economics)
by Carolyn Conn and Fred Tedesco
The Almost Perfect CPA
Ruth Green Award (for the Best Case by authors from outside North America)
by Ignacio Osuna Soto, Javier J.O. Silva, and Charles Muller Sanchez
Nissin Foods
Best Case Written in French
by Ronald Kamin
Kaviari:Le Caviar a L’etat Pur
Best Case Written in Spanish
by Ernesto Barrera and Natalia Arbelaez
TigoUNE: La centralidad del cliente en una integración cultural

2015 Conference Awards


Gold: Randall D. Harris and W. Scott Sherman.
General Motors.
Silver: Syeda Maseeha Qumer, Debapratim Purkayastha & Vijaya Narapareddy.
A Lapse of Judgment.
Bronze: Grishma Shah, Janet L. Rovenpor & Musa Jafar.
A Brand under Attack: The Boycott of Stoli Vodka and the Power of Social Media
Lisa Eshbach & Nancy M. Levenburg.
Adam’s Ribs: An Adventure in Food Cartology
Other NACRA 2015 Case Awards
Above and Beyond Award (For outstanding contribution to the NACRA annual conference):
Javier Silva
Best Case Written in French:
by Valentina Kirova & Marie-Noelle Rimaud.
La Maison de Cognac Remy Martin
Ruth Green Award (for the Best Case by authors from outside North America)
by Josep Franch, Ivo Fink & Augusti Casas.
KH Loreda: Internationalizing a Local Champion
Best Case by a NACRA Newcomer:
by Sarah Elizabeth Clark, Elisabeth Burgess & Alejandro Allera Mercadillo.
Making the Case for Cargo Flights to Guadalajara
Giving Voice to Values Award
by Cynthia A. Ingols
Refusing to Join the Looting Bandwagon